March Birchbox – The Overview

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

It’s that time of the month again (and not the one that freaks little boys out!); although it’s a few days late, my March Birchbox arrived today! A celebration of the anniversary of the first UK Birchbox, this month sees us given a simplistic box, plain, with a cardboard style lid. No drawer, but a cute cotton bag to store your stuff in. You also get a 20% off voucher for the Birchbox store. Nice!

IMG_20170313_190313.jpg

Now, onto the products! This month, everyone gets a Benefit “they’re real!” Double the Lip Lipstick in lusty rose or pink thrills, a balanceme Beauty product and a Marcelle makeup remover, which is exclusive to Birchbox. My products, on top of the lipstick, were the balanceme Instant Lift Primer, a Rituals the Ritual of Sakura Foaming Shower Gel, a Batiste 2-in-1 Invisible Dry Shampoo & Conditioner, and a Marcelle Gentle Makeup Remover.

Benefit “They’re Real!” Double the Lip Lipstick

I already had a sample of this from a Benefit gift set, and you can read the review right here: https://wordofrachel.wordpress.com/2017/03/05/review-benefit-theyre-real-double-the-lip-lipstick/

This wasn’t the best thing I’ve ever used, although the colour is nice. I recommend this if you like light lipsticks, although the built in liner gets annoying very quickly. I’d like this product a lot more if it was one colour…

balanceme Instant Lift Primer

A moisturising primer that tightens skin and reduces pores. This has a lovely floral smell, although it’s very strong, and left my skin feeling very soft. I seem to be receiving a lot of these moisturising primers recently, and this one feels very similar to the This Works In Transit Camera Close Up that came in my Glossybox. It even smells the same. Also, the sample is tiny. It’s going to take me a few more uses to see how it really compares…

Rituals The Ritual of Sakura Foaming Shower Gel

A foaming shower gel scented with organic rice milk and cherry blossom, this stuff smells beautiful, but not unlike some cheaper shower gels. At only £4.50 a bottle, you can’t really expect anything more than that! I’m looking forward to giving this a try. I can’t really recommend, as I haven’t tried this yet, but I have high hopes and may review it later.

Batiste 2-in-1 Invisible Dry Shampoo & Conditioner

I got this in Vanilla and Passionflower, which is one of two scents available. I’m already a fan of Batiste’s dry shampoo range, but not much a fan of the white residue it leaves all over my scalp. This shampoo goes on invisible and leaves a nice shine on the hair, rather than leaving it dry and powdery. It also smells lovely! Again, this is another cheap one when full sized (£4.49) so I fully recommend this one!

Marcelle Gentle Makeup Remover

A Birchbox exclusive, this double layered makeup remover promises to remove all makeup and reduce puffiness thanks to a blend of cucumber and green tea. I’m not too convinced by the mixing capability, as when I shook it up the division between the layers just seemed masked by a line of bubbles. It smells more like chemicals than cucumber and green tea. It’s also quite greasy, which put me off. But it removes eye makeup remarkably well, and doesn’t spread eyeliner and mascara all over your eyes like my current makeup remover does. I prefer a less oily texture but cannot deny that this is really good. I do recommend this, but the greasiness feels a little gross.

So, all in all, the only product I’m not sold by this month is the hyped up lipstick (see the full review for info on that). I’m a little surprised that there are two products that cost less than £5 in full size, as Birchbox doesn’t usually push cheaper products (or perhaps I’ve been lucky so far, this is only my third month). There is better variety in the Birchbox products than Glossybox this month, so there is that. And the little cotton bag that the products come in is going to hold my makeup palettes. I still love Birchbox!

If you want to give Birchbox a try, click this link for £5 off your first box:https://www.birchbox.co.uk/invite/9k4xw

4 thoughts on “March Birchbox – The Overview

Leave a Reply

